Maangalyam [Bangalore Days 2014]

If you are looking for more song translations from Bangalore Days, head over to my other blog: paattinteparibhasha.com/tag/bangalore-days/

Unnikuttan,

Another year has gone by. You are slowly growing out of your childhood innocence. You don’t believe in santa or tooth fairy any more 😦 and has taken to demanding the Christmas gifts from us. You even tried to charge a steep price for your fallen teeth (Well, $5 each is a bit much  😛 ). Along with these, you are starting to notice the difference between on-screen and printed make believe stories and real life. You ask whether Mammooty/Mohanlal/Prithviraj are 6th degree black belt like your martial arts instructor, prompting your dad to give you a talk about Chinese martial arts actors and use of wires to enhance the fight sequences. 😀  You were amazed to find that actors you know from other movies give voices to some of the cartoon characters you love. You look up videos on youtube to see the making of an animation movie and swear to me that you want to become an animation engineer when you grow up. 😀

This is a peppy song you like. When this song plays in our home, you’ll come running from wherever and start singing along with “thanthunanena”. :D. Now…ask me that question again…You know which one, right? – whether the guy and girl in this movie gets married for real?. 😉

Pachakilikkoru koodu
Pacha karimbu azhi ulla koodu
[A cage for you, green bird
A cage with green bamboo bars]
Pachakilikkoru koodu
Pacha karikmbu azhi ulla koodu
[A cage for you, green bird
A cage with green bamboo bars]
Ooo…Kannalan kettunnundallo ho..ooo..
Athu ninne koottan aanallo
[Ooo…Your beloved is building ho..ooo..
To make a home with you]

Thudakkam maangalyam thanthunanena
Pinne jeevitham dhumthananena
[First comes the wedding…
Then comes life…]
Thudakkam maangalyam thanthunanena
Pinne jeevitham dhumthananena
[First comes the wedding…
Then comes life…]
Thudakkam maangalyam thanthunanena
Pinne jeevitham dhumthananena
[First comes the wedding…
Then comes life…]

Kaniyalle kanmaniyalle…Aadhyam chollum nin kanavan
Kanna nee veyil kollalle neeyum chollum
[“How beautiful you are, how precious!” your husband will say in the beginning
“Darling don’t stand in the sun”, you will tell him]
O… kadhamaarum chekavan* aakum urumi** edukkum padaveeran
Hey hey pinnothirakadakam…Hey Hey eri podi angam
[O…Then story will turn and he will take a sword
Hey hey then othirakadakam***…Hey hey and a spicy fight]

Ketto, nee ketto ee koottil pettal pinne
Neelaakasham kandorillannaro chollunne
[Have you heard, if you are locked in this cage…
You will never see the blue skies again]
Kannal en kannal njan kalla thakkol theerkkum
Velli pakshikkoppam mele vinnil paarum njaanum
[With my eyes, I’ll make a key and use it…
to fly with silver bird in the sky above]
Midukkiye merukki, thali kurukkil akki, kurumbu othokki
Thadankalil thalachu kaanan… manassilum oru kothiyundallo
[The wilful girl being tamed, being tied with the sacred knot, her naughtiness being calmed
and her getting caged… I have a wish to see that]
Ha!… Kurumbu katturumbu koottam nuzhanju kerathe adachu ketti
Enikkavan orikki nalkum oru swargam
[Ha!…You naughty band of ants will be kept out…
from the heaven he creates for me]

Thudakkam maangalyam thanthunanena
Pinne jeevitham dhumthananena
[First comes the wedding…
Then comes life…]

Pachakilikkoru koodu
Pacha karimbu azi ulla koodu
[A cage for you… green bird
A cage with green bamboo bars]
Pachakilikkoru koodu
Pacha karimbu azi ulla koodu
[A cage for you… green bird
A cage with green bamboo bars]
Ooo..Kannalan kettunnundallo ho..ooo…
Athu ninne koottanaanallo
[Ooo…Your beloved is building
To make a home with you]

Thudakkam maangalyam thanthunanena
Pinne jeevitham dhumthananena (3)
[First comes the wedding…
Then comes life…]

Maangalyam thanthunanena
Pinne jeevitham dhumthananena (3)
[Wedding…Then comes life…]

*Chekavan – Chekavanmaar are warriors who lived in Kerala long back.
**Urumi – This is a special sword which has very flexible blade that can be rolled like a whip.
***Othrirakadakam – Kalarippayattu is a martial arts form practiced in Kerala by Chekavanmaar. From my understanding, othirakadakam is a martial arts move in kalarippayattu. I could be wrong though. 🙂

 

15 responses to “Maangalyam [Bangalore Days 2014]

  1. Its my current favorite song too! As usual, it was lovely to see the english translation… I enjoy the picturization of this song due to the trio chemistry..its lovely the read their teasing in english…lol….Aha..kids growing out of their innocence..its time…but its something which I misses greatly…can’t believe actually they have grown up…its hard to accept..isn’t it? You would be wondering when did they all of the sudden become very sensible and logical?

    • You are right, the chemistry between the three is awesome. Especially in the emotional parts – like when the boys offer solid silent support without any questions asked when she wants to go home.

      Yeah, we have to let them go when they are grown up. It’s a learning curve for us as well – how much to control, what to let go, alle?

  2. Hi,
    Iam new to ur site. Landed here a couple of weeks back and I am following the blog since then.
    Iam priya – IF username arjuhisis

    May I know which movie this song is from – Iam not sure whether I have heard this – would love to listen to it – will YouTube it to find more about it

    Happy Vishu to u and to ur family
    Tc

  3. could you please translate ethu kari ravilum song lyrics for me.. I am dying to know the meaning of that beautiful song.. Btw the translation above is awesome..

  4. I did not know you wrote!!! I am so glad I chances upon this blog ☺

    Such heart-warming notes to the offspring!!! These small entries are the ones that they will treasure, when they get older – right! You are saving up beautiful memories for him, alongside family portraits and many other gifts. Great job!

    This song is both mine and my daughter’s absolute favorite! We heard it only a couple of months ago. She does not understand a word of Malayalam but still prefers the Malayalam version to the Tamil one !

  5. Horrible translation.

    Koodu is “nest” literally not cage.

    The translation to cage for koodu and overuse of it to state that the girl is being “tamed” is also incorrect.

    He’s just saying that he’s tying up a “midukki,” a sophisticated girl into the marriage knot.

    This is what happens when someone knows Malayalam well and doesn’t understand English at all.

    • I debated on whether it is “nest” too and I picked cage becoz only cages have “azhi” / bars. I don’t agree with the rest of what you have said becoz I did not interpret that part based on the “cage”. 🙂 Also if it is not cage, how do you interpret these four lines?
      Ketto, nee ketto ee koottil pettal pinne
      Neelaakasham kandorillannaro chollunne
      Kannal en kannal njan kalla thakkol theerkkum
      Velli pakshikkoppam mele vinnil paarum njaanum

      And, such harsh personal criticism! Lol. Kurachu English okke enikkum ariyaado! 😀

  6. Anushka Iyer

    Growing up I’ve never had a lot of southern influence even though I’m from Kerala except from my family which I never really paid heed to because everyone around was a Maharashtrian and I wanted to fit in with them. However, now, there are times when I crave to be closer to my culture by way of songs or movies and consciously make that effort. I’m going to treasure this blog and keep it close to me. I’m getting to learn things I haven’t before and it makes me very happy.

  7. I really want to learn Malayalam because I wanna surprise my school teachers who are Malayalis; when I go to meet them with a job. Plus I wanna watch more Malayali movies without English subtitles that’s why. Can you suggest someplace where I can learn.
    By the way, I too love this song, best wishes for your future :*

Leave a comment