Muthuchippi Poloru [Thattathin Marayathu 2012]

Unnikuttan,

You know, you are a little goof ball most times. You are sure the FM station is not playing “Summer of ’69” because the weather is cold (and was ecstatic when they did one day last week). You love debating your dad on who sang “Eye of the tiger” (Katy Perry, Of Course! 😉 ) and he had to remind himself that you are too young to know who Rocky is. You like talking in rhymes and making up words for tunes which run in your mind – like the time you were jamming to Adam Levine on the radio – “I gotta moo like a cow..gotta moo like a cow..mooooo ooo oo like a cow..”. 😀 At times it gets so annoying that your dad and I place a 5 minute speaking ban on you. Though, now-a-days, we find ourselves depending on you more and more to find out the words of new English pop songs on FM. 🙂

This is the first song in Malayalam you ever attempted to sing on your own. I remember you asking me to describe in English what the song means. Your grandparents were so proud when you sang it for them..:)

En Omale..Enn Shwasame..Enn Jeevane..Aaisha(2)
[My darling..My breath…My life.. Aaisha]

Muthuchippi poloru kathinullill vannoru kinnaaram
Kinnarichu paaduvaan ullin ullill ninnoru shree raagaam (repeat 2 lines)
[In a letter, like a pearl oyster, came some sweet words
To sing a song from your heart in shree raagam*]

Moodal Manjin kulirulla pulariyil
Paari paari ennum ente kanavukalil
Varavaayi nee Aaisha…(2)
[In the foggy and chilly mornings
flying in my dreams..
you are coming, Aaisha..(2)]

Muthuchippi poloru kathinullill vannoru kinnaaram
Kinnarichu paaduvaan ullin ullill ninnoru shree raagaam
[In a letter, like a pearl oyster, came some sweet words
To sing a song from your heart in shree raagam*]

Oru kaatu en poonkavil thazhukum…priyamaam sandheshavum anayum
Oru cheppill ninte maanasam niraye poovidum aashakal kaanuvaan mohamaayi
[Like a breeze caressing my face…a dear message is here
A little box full of your dreams, that’s what I am wishing to see in that]
Poovinte maarile madhuvaarnoru naru thean thullipol..
Aardramaam nenjille priyamaarnora mugham ennennum nee…ariyu Aaisha
[Like a drop of sweet nectar from the bosom of a flower…
the dear face in my soft heart…is you Aaisha]

Muthuchippi poloru kathinullill vannoru kinnaaram
Kinnarichu paaduvaan ullin ullill ninnoru shree raagaam
[In a letter, like a pearl oyster, came some sweet words
To sing a song from your heart in Shree raagam*]

Moodal Manjin kulirulla pulariyil
Paari paari ennum ente kanavukalil
Varavaayi nee Aaisha…(2)
[In the foggy and chilly mornings
flying in my dreams..
you are coming, Aaisha..(2)]

Muthuchippi poloru kathinullill vannoru kinnaaram
thananana thaanana thananana thaanana…shree raagam
[In a letter, like a pearl oyster, came some sweet words
thananana thaanana thananana thaanana… shree raagam*]

* Raagam is the way musical notes are coined together to make a tune. Sometimes when we hear a song, we feel like it is similar to another song we have heard. This is because they could be of the same raagam. Sometimes mazha(rain) is  supposed to have shree raagam.

9 responses to “Muthuchippi Poloru [Thattathin Marayathu 2012]

  1. Lovely choice of song. But as usual, your note was the highlight and believe me, when i read the first line, I laughed. Actually your this blog sometimes reminds me what I miss mostly in life – a kid! I remember my little sisters Kunju and Malu..Can I share this blog with them? They will love it I am sure..That note really reminded me of some funny incidents which I had with them..oh god! I miss those little ones very much! Aha, I can imagine in my mind, the grandparent’s happiness on hearing Unnikuttan singing this no..Cool! Have you recorded it?

    Satyam paranjal ee translation vayikumpol annu how pinekilli is the song ennu manasilakunee! Flying in my dreams..LOL! and dear face in my soft heart really made had me ROFL..

    Btw I didn’t know mazhayude thalam sreeragamanu ennathu..thanks for the info..

    • Sure.. You can share it… :)..Nah.. I haven’t recorded him singing it.. It sounds so cute though, with his accent (At least for me, LOL)…
      No kidding about the painkili words… ROFL…Can you believe this is the song I really struggled to translate?… Lyrics sound pretty cool in Malayalam, but not in English.. :D.. Well, I guess this is what literal translation results in.. :D…
      My favorite song in this movie is the Lakshmi Stuthi – Shwethambara dhare Devi..It’s so beautiful and calms you down… Shaan Rahman did an awesome job with that…Do you know if it is an actual prayer?
      Hmm.. Really? You didn’t know about mazhayude raagam?.. I’m sure it was in some Mohanlal movie.. :P.

      • Already shared! Thanks…I tell you..you should record it..it’s something kids would love and believe me it increases their confidence to perform on stage later in their life…I have a huge collection of my little friends antics over years..and now days when I feel lonely..I just need to watch one of those to bring a smile or laugh..Next time he sings, do record..

        Yea when I read the translation of this song, I felt weird too…he he…Oh that song is my mom’s ringtone..she loves it..even i too…I didnt know it was a prayer..I mean i thought it was a devi shuthi, yea which is otherwise known as prayer too..ok..Which Mohan lal movie?

        • I got a ton of his videos… It’s just that I haven’t recorded this…He’s past that stage and hates being recorded now-a-days.. :)…

          I’m not sure if it is a prayer… I was asking you if you knew…:)…I think the movie is Chandrolsavam.

  2. I gotta mooo like a cow. I gotta mooo like a cow.

    Damn, T! He’s definitely gotting me mooing along with him. lol.

    Yup, I too love Shwethambara dhare Devi from this movie. Not a fan of overtly romantic songs, but love love love this movie for the humour content. Especially the “onu 6 pack a” and smart boys segment. The smart boys segment never fails to crack me up. Watching it on youtube now.

    • The first time he moo-ed I laughed my head off.. LOL…
      Yeah.. I’m not a fan of the theme of that movie, but it’s got lot of hilarious one liners.. Chechi! .. Ingane chanakam vaari theerkanullathano jeevitham! … Lol…
      Shaan rahman’s direction is great… Did you listen to the song from Om Shaanti Oshana? – kaattu mooliyo pranayam?… There is something so simple about the tune which is really catchy, just like shwetambara dhare

      • I have been hearing a lot of noise about that movie on both Fahad Fazil and Vineeth Sreenivasan’s Facebook page. I need to check it out now.

  3. *gotten me.
    [Ugh, I hate touch screens]

  4. sneha bhattacharjee

    PLEASE TRANSLATE ”ANURAAGAM” & SHYAMAMBARAM” FROM THE MOVIE ”THATTATHIN MARAYATHU .PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

Leave a Reply

