Unnam Marannu [In Harihar Nagar 1990]

Unnikuttan,

It is really fun to watch you having a philosophical discussion with your dad. You say the darnedest things which would then leave us to wonder if we have a teen. Here is one of them:

You were upset about not clearing a level in your DS and your dad was trying to pacify you by giving some life lessons.
Dad: You know mone(son), nothing in life comes easy.
Mom: (listening in) šŸ˜€
You: (with a flat tone and straight face) Really? How about eating potato chips?
Dad: (stumped!) Ummmm…
Mom: LOL

This is a beautiful song with excellent but complicated lyrics which describes how seriously we take ourselves when we don’t even know what is going to happen tomorrow. I am not sure why you like this song. The only explanation I can think of is that you like the techno beats in the copy I own. You have only heard the remix version which appeared in the sequel and not the original movie. It is hard for you to even remember the song’s name and you get frustrated when I don’t understand it is this one you are requesting, to be played. šŸ™‚

Unnam marannu thenniparanna ponnin kinaakkalellam
Onnicheduthu karalintakathu chillittadachathalle(2)
[Our golden dreams which scatter in different directions if let free
are all kept locked away in the glass window of our hearts…]
Veruthe kolam thullum*… manase pavam neeyum
[Dancing for no reason…my poor mind]
Vazhiyil chekkayunarum, valuvirayan pakshi parayum
Bhoomiyini adimudi kulungumen kuruvalonnu anangumbol
[The one who chirps on the countryside, the wagtail bird, will say
“The whole earth shakes when my little tail moves”]

Poovanu ahankaram ividini njan kokkarako
koovuka illengil ethu vazhiye pularivarum
[The proud rooster thinks: “If I do not crow,
how will the dawn come?”]
Ushireriyaal puli pulledaa… ushirillennu athu neredaa
Eli thummiyaal mala veezhumo?… eritheeyil chiri vevumo?**
[Facing the leopard is trivial if we have courage,but truth is we don’t have any
If a mouse sneezes, will the mountain fall?… Will laugh cook in open fire?]
Kalaham koodum ulakam… medu palathum kaattiyithile
paayumoru puzhayude thirayile nurayude thari ivar
[Even when the world fights…touching different meadows,
we areĀ allĀ flowing like little droplets in the foaming waves of rapids]

Cheru kuzhiyanakalum madam ilakum kanavukalil***
Kanalil arikkaruthe ini veruthe, chithalukale
[The small antlion larve dream going crazy like elephants
Don’t feed on glowing embers, you termites… ]
Njaanjoolinum sheelkkaaramo… njaanennu ahambhavamo
Maaralayum chemballiyum melkkoora thaangunnuvo
[Is the earthworm hissing like a snake?… and being too proud about self
Does the spider web and lizard feel that they support the ceiling?]
Prakruthi… ninte vikruthi… enthu thakruthi… ennoraruthi
chollum athinu oruvanum aruthu athu valiyoru pazhamozhi
[Oh Nature! Your high handedness! How fast things change! Will this ever end?
No one can say…and this is an important proverb]

Unnam marannu thenniparanna ponnin kinaakkalellam
Onnicheduthu karalintakathu chillittadachathalle(2)
[Our golden dreams which scatter in different directions if let free
are all kept locked away in the glass window of our hearts…]
Veruthe kolam thullum*… manase pavam neeyum
[Dancing for no reason…my poor mind]
Vazhiyil chekkayunarum, valuvirayan pakshi parayum
Bhoomiyini adimudi kulungumen kuruvalonnu anangumbol
[The one who chirps on the countryside, the wagtail bird, will say
“The earth shakes when my little tail moves”]

* Kolam thullal is a temple dance art form in Kerala.
** “Eritheeyil chiri vevumo?” – Figuratively this would mean “Can you get out of trouble with just a grin?”
*** This line makes sense only if you read it in Malayalam because of the similarity between elephant’s Malayalam name ‘Aana’ and antlion’s Malayalam name ‘Kuzhiyaana’. Madam means musth – happens only to male elephants when they become adults which makes them very aggressive. Antlion larve live in little kuzhis(pits) they make for trapping their prey and their pincers look a bit like the elephant’s trunk and hence the name kuzhiyaana. They walk backwards. When I was little, I used to hunt for kuzhiyaanas, put them on a sheet of sand to see them make doodles just by walking. :).

6 responses to “Unnam Marannu [In Harihar Nagar 1990]

  1. My god! I learned a lot of things after going through this post and I should say that I enjoyed it greatly!
    1. Itā€™s my favourite song when I was growing up. And I am a big fan of ā€œThomaskutty vittodaā€..I still use it at times you know when I am in troubleā€¦its kind of a signature dialogue and entha parayaā€¦it brings back the best times of life ā€“ Childhood days and we had lot of fun while we were growing up alle? Where did all those go??? That movie was one of the classicā€¦.I still remember all those dialogues ā€œKakka thuriā€ā€¦ā€Ninte achan Kuwaitil alle?, ellarum thirichu vanalo enittu enthe angeru mathram varanje?….itha karanumā€ Jagadesh had such a witty dialogues and the whole ā€œChasing Mayaā€ was wonderfulā€¦Oh I want to see that first movie once againā€¦ethra sequels vannalumā€¦.the first one was the bestā€¦
    2. My god! I never knew these lines were meaning all theseā€¦I mean, I never paid attention to the lyrics..when I was reading the translation, the music was automatically playing in my head..but then when I started paying attention to the meaning I was thinkingā€¦oh ho..ithoke ayirunno Mukesh padi kondu irunne??? Aa kalathe youngsters Mukesh ayirunallo handsomeā€¦avane vayayum polichu nokki iriakal ayirunnu my main pani when this song comes on tvā€¦but its now I am recognizing the meaning of the songā€¦
    3. Unnikuttan midukan annalo..ipolyathe all kids are like thisā€¦parents ne uttharam mutipikune varthamanum annu..ha haā€¦ā€ It is hard for you to even remember the songā€™s name and you get frustrated when I donā€™t understand it is this one you are requesting, to be played.:)— it happensā€¦.and I love this scene you wroteā€¦there is something cute about it and when finally you understand what the kid is saying ā€“ he feels like he accomplished something by making his mom/sis/dad successfully understand his idea or thoughtsā€¦and we end up feeling like ā€œAre we that slowā€ he heā€¦

    4. [Our golden dreams which scatter in different directions if let free
    are all kept locked away in the glass window of our hearts…] —- reminded me of an old blog post I wrote..something about the glass window of heart, locked state —http://rainsarefromheaven.blogspot.in/2013/02/gift.html

    5. [Dancing for no reason…my poor mind]—-poor heart alle? Instead of mind..???

    6. [The one who chirps on the countryside, the wagtail bird, will say
    “The whole earth shakes when my little tail moves”]—- cool!! Thatā€™s trueā€¦even the wagtail bird think high of its ability while humans like us who has high IQ brains forget our worth most of the times..and in case if we exhibit our proudness in our talents and abilities, we are proclaimed as Arrogant and selfishā€¦wellā€¦this is a good point for my fights in futureā€¦thanks..he he..

    7. Ushireriyaal puli pulledaaā€¦ ushirillennu athu neredaa
    Eli thummiyaal mala veezhumo?ā€¦ eritheeyil chiri vevumo?**
    [Facing the leopard is trivial if we have courage,but truth is we don’t have any
    If a mouse sneezes, will the mountain fall?… Will laugh cook in open fire?]—- here facing leopard what you wrote is very trueā€¦but we have to face faking courageā€¦.ee laugh cook in open fire..had me scratching my head for sometime wondering..I read both Malayalam and English part of the song and nothing was clickingā€¦then it slowly dawnedā€¦cool lady..its hard to translate such things..later in your notes ā€“ you have excellently explained it..

    8. Kalaham koodum ulakamā€¦ medu palathum kaattiyithile
    paayumoru puzhayude thirayile nurayude thari ivar
    [Even when the world fights…touching different meadows,
    we are all flowing like little droplets in the foaming waves of rapids]—-flowing like little droplets in the foaming waves of rapids..adipoliā€¦.poetic..who wrote the lyrics of this song? Nalla bhavana,,,,,

    9. Cheru kuzhiyanakalum madam ilakum kanavukalil***
    Kanalil arikkaruthe ini veruthe, chithalukale
    [The small antlion larve dream going crazy like elephants—– ok now this line had me wondering..your note at the end helped me a lotā€¦honestly I thought kuzhiyanna was baby elephantā€¦I didnā€™t know it was totally a different speciesā€¦earlier I thought it was kuzhiyil veena aana is called kuzhianna..oh shame on meā€¦.i am so pathetic in even my own mother tongue..anyways thank you for new informationā€¦

    10. Don’t feed on glowing embers, you termites… ]
    Njaanjoolinum sheelkkaaramoā€¦ njaanennu ahambhavamo—- I love this line in that songā€¦

    • Whoa! This is huge! šŸ˜€

      Yeah! It is so nostalgic to hear it and so is Ekantha Chandrike. You are right, this is a cult movie! Don’t know how many times we have repeated “Kaakka thoorinna thonnane” in that funny voice and said “Thomasukutty Vittoda” LOL. Sequels onnum aadyathethinte vaalil kettan polum kollilla!

      This song is my favorite more because of the awesome lyrics. I think it is Bichu Thirumala who wrote it. I also love the last verse in both the paragraphs which explains how insignificant we all are when we look at the bigger picture. About manasu being mind or heart, I think we use it either way in Malayalam. Since I used heart in the lines above it, I went with mind in “Manase paavam neeyum”. The same way, karal is actually liver, but we always use it to mean heart in the songs, don’t we?. šŸ™‚ I don’t know if it makes sense to contain your dreams in your liver. LOL

      I can’t believe you didn’t know what a kuzhiyaana is. šŸ˜€ Kuzhiyaana pidutham was a main event when ever I went to my parent’s home when I was little. Have you never done that?

      My favorite line is the next one – Maaralayum chemballiyum melkoora thangunnuvo?

  2. ohh i do agree with you guys here…and to think that having loved the beats of the song i have actually never looked into the lyrics in depth …maybe it being a fast number….but that movie was something comedy drama and action all packed in one and the multi hero mix …we rarely get movies of that impact these days…
    and karal is another thing all together… imagine translating
    karale karalinte karale ennodonnu chirikkoo (asking the liver to laugh at u)…i have enjoyed this blog each song reminds me of something old and good …and i love ur unnikuttan …

  3. Oh my god, T!!!!!!!! I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!

    I need to watch the first movie one more time. Loved it a lot back then and still love it.

    Wow, T. This song is so damn meaningful! Listening it to again.

Leave a Reply

