O…Ponthoovalai [Ee Adutha Kaalathu 2012]

Unnikuttan,

The other day, we met an infant at a party. When we were about to leave and were saying goodbyes, you went right next to the little one and said bye in a baby voice,  shaking the tiny feet. The baby’s mom was really impressed. 🙂  I didn’t even think you noticed the baby, because you were so busy playing with your other friends… and here you were cooing to the baby!  These are the times I am amazed by your softer side. 🙂

The music of this song feels so light and just makes me wanna twirl on the lawn under soft sun and breeze. 😀  You always claim this is mom’s favorite. I absolutely love the singer’s voice. Sometimes you try to trade me with 2 repeats of ‘Wake up! Sid’ for a repeat of this song. But I know you secretly like this one too.  😀

O… Ponthoovalai
Aalolam njaan meyum vaanidangal (Repeat 2 lines)
[O…Like a golden feather
I softly graze around in the sky]
O… Kunjolamai
Saamodam njaan thedum saagarangal
[O…Like a small wave
I gladly search for my ocean]

+Fasana yeh yaarana
Ya azaadi ka taraana
[Is it a love story, this friendship?
Or a music note of freedom?]

Sooryanaalam ettithaa thilakkamaarnnum
Pookkalum kinaakkalum..vilola neela shalabham pol
[Catching sun’s rays, I glow.
In flowers and dreams, like a blue butterfly… ]
Paarukayai… Njaanithile..poyppoya swargangal nedaanai
Kaarmukile..ninnudalil..paalunna thoominnal njaanalle…
[..I’m flying here to get back my lost heaven
I’m the silver lightning which strikes across the rain clouds]

+Fasana yeh yaarana
Ya azaadi ka taraana
[Is it a love story, this friendship?
Or a music note of freedom?]

Chandrane thodaan itha pathukke vannuu…
Kaikal neetti nilkkumee vishaada mooka raavinte
[To touch the moon, softly,
this sad silent night is extending it’s hands]
Aelelam… chelelam..minnunna polthaaram njaanalle
Jaalakame nin virikal…paarunna kaattente paattalle
[I’m the twinkling star which brings respite in this depressing night
The soft breeze which flutters the window curtains, is my song]

+Fasana yeh yaarana
Ya azaadi ka taraana
[Is it a love story, this friendship?
Or a music note of freedom?]

O… Ponthoovalai
Aalolam njaan meyum vaanidangal
[O…Like a golden feather
I softly graze around in the sky]
O…Kunjolamai
Saamodam njaan thedum saagarangal
[O…Like a small wave
I gladly search for my ocean]

+Fasana yeh yaarana
Ya azaadi ka taraana
[Is it a love story, this friendship?
Or a music note of freedom?]

+ These two lines are in Hindi/Urdu.

7 responses to “O…Ponthoovalai [Ee Adutha Kaalathu 2012]

  1. Agree with you. I had this on loop today morning on headphones while tending to my itty bitty backyard. There was a cool breeze in the air and oh what a perfect start to the morning! I dont know…. the voice is very addictive.

    Thanks for sharing, T! And keep ’em coming. Once again, love your taste in music!! 🙂

    • Thanks B!

      Yeah I feel the same way about the singer- Sithara… Have you listened to any of her other songs? I also love ‘pakalin pavanil’ from Traffic… I feel her voice is especially sweet in high pitches in both songs… Not many can hold on to the quality of voice like her.

  2. When we were about to leave and were saying goodbyes, you went right next to the little one and said bye in a baby voice, shaking the tiny feet. The baby’s mom was really impressed. 🙂 I didn’t even think you noticed the baby, because you were so busy playing with your other friends… and here you were cooing to the baby! These are the times I am amazed by your softer side. ​—- Now that reminded me of Arnav…don’t ask me why…just like that…You remember Arnav used to do something out of his character and everyone especially Anjali would be like surprised, with her mouth hanging open….I can see that kind visual in my head when Unnikuttan had his talk with the baby…Kids leave you amazed right?

    The music of this song feels so light and just makes me wanna twirl on the lawn under soft sun and breeze. ​—- Go ahead!! Who is stopping you…Btw, I haven’t heard this song…will hear it first and then get back to you….

  3. Ok finally I heard this one…I remember watching the movie but since the music was of not my taste the song had not caught my interest…But yaar, your taste in music is really broad and diverse..good! 🙂

Leave a comment